
ALABAMA SECURITIES COMMISSION 

POLICY STATEMENT CONCERNING LIMITED OFFERING EXEMPTION 

FILINGS MADE PURSUANT TO SEC RULES 504, 505 AND 506 

OF REGULATION D 

Rule 506 

The National Securities Markets Improvement Act of 1996 (“NSMIA”) included 

securities sold pursuant to Regulation D, Rule 506 in the classification of a “Covered Security”, 

preempting the states rights to register these types of offerings beyond requiring a basic notice 

filing, not to exceed any standards required by the SEC for similar filings.  The Commission staff 

will require the following information for the purpose of complying with the notice requirements 

of NSMIA for any Rule 506 offering in the State of Alabama. 

1. A filing fee in the amount of $300.00, made payable to the Alabama Securities 
Commission.

2. A Consent to Service of Process.  The Consent must name the Secretary of State, State 
of Alabama (Form U-2 is acceptable).

3. An electronically or manually executed Form D.

4. One copy of all documents to be distributed to offerees.  This requirement is not 

mandatory, but is requested strictly for informational purposes.  The Commission staff 

will not review or make comment on such offering documents.

No commission, finders fee or other remuneration shall be paid or given, directly or 

indirectly, to any person for soliciting any prospective purchaser in this state, unless the broker-

dealer agent is registered in this state pursuant to Code of Ala. 1975 §8-6-3.  In order to 

determine compliance with this provision, all broker-dealers who will participate in the offering 

of an issuer’s securities in this state shall be identified on page 3 of the Form D. 

All of the above must be submitted within fifteen days of the first sale in this state.  
The Commission staff requests a notice to be filed upon the termination of the offering. 

Rule 505 

NSIMIA does not impact the existing Alabama rules and regulations concerning 

Regulation D, Rule 505 offerings.  All offerings made pursuant to rule 505 alone, shall comply 

with Commission Rule 830-X-6-.11.  A brief summary of the requirements follow: 

1. A filing fee in the amount of $300.00, made payable to the Alabama Securities

Commission.



 

 2.  A Consent to Service of Process.  The Consent must name the Secretary of State, State 

of Alabama (Form U-2 is acceptable). 

 

 3.  A manually executed Form D. 

 

 4.  One copy of all documents to be distributed to offerees.  Unlike Rule 506, this 

requirement (number 4) is mandatory.  The Commission staff will perform a disclosure 

review and make appropriate comments on such offering documents. 

 

 No commission, finders fee or other remuneration shall be paid or given, directly or 

indirectly, to any person for soliciting any prospective purchaser in this state, unless the broker-

dealer agent is registered in this state pursuant to Code of Ala. 1975 §8-6-3.  In order to 

determine compliance with this provision, all broker-dealers who will participate in the offering 

of an issuer’s securities in this state shall be identified on page 3 of the Form D. 

 

 

 All of the above must be submitted at least five full business days before the first 

offer in this state. 

 

 Code of Ala. 1975 §8-6-2(8) defines sale and offer as follows: 

 

“Sale” and “sell” includes every contract of sale of, contract to sell or disposition 

of a security or interest in a security for value.  “Offer” or “offer to sell” includes 

every attempt to offer or dispose of, or solicitation of an offer to buy, a security or 

interest in a security for value. 

 

 

Rule 504 

 

 Alabama does not currently recognize Rule 504 filings.  Therefore, all offerings relying 

on Rule 504, on a federal level, must either: 1) Register in Alabama pursuant to Qualification or, 

2) Qualify for some other exemption contained at Code of Ala. 1975 §§8-6-10, 8-6-11.  

Expansion Order requests are common for these types of filings. 

 

DATED this the 6th day of June, 1998. 

 

 

 

        

        

 

 

 

 

 


